Writespace v.1.4

Rating:        Based on 7 ratings
Reviewed:  7 reviews
Downloads: 7687
Change Set: 47956
Released: May 7, 2010
Updated: May 9, 2010 by JohanDanforth
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application Writespace for Word 2007
application, 6223K, uploaded May 9, 2010 - 6908 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application Writespace for Word 2003
application, 6184K, uploaded May 9, 2010 - 442 downloads
Application Writespace Command Line
application, 178K, uploaded May 7, 2010 - 272 downloads
Application Writespace IronRuby Sample
application, 26K, uploaded May 7, 2010 - 65 downloads

Release Notes

New features/fixes
Staying with click-once installers, as Microsoft has made it totally impossible to create normal installers for vsto-addins, clusterfck some would say.
No code changes! New installer for Word 2007, separate download for Word 2007 and Word 2003.
Requirements
The addins require .NET 3.5 SP1, Visual Studio Tools for Office and Office Primary Interop Assemblies. Should be installed as part of the setup... I hope! Else, go download from MSDN please!
Installation
To install - download and unzip, then run setup.exe. New buttons to enter the Writespace editor will be available in the VIEW tab of Word 2007 or the right-click popup menu of Word 2003 depending on which version you download and install. The Command Line and Iron Ruby files are zipped and contains no setups (see below).
Uninstallation
To uninstall, just remove it from the add/remove programs tool in Control Panel.
Command Line Program
The command line "driver" for Writespace includes some simple functionality to open and save a text file in the full screen environment outside of Word. Should run well in the Windows 7 taskbar.
IronRuby Sample
There is also a small IronRuby sample program to do about the same thing as the command line program does. You'll have to edit the cmd-file to point at where your ir.exe is located. IronRuby can be downloaded from http://ironruby.codeplex.com/.

Reviews for this release

     
I think it might need some beta testing for Word 2010. I tried it on a document with lots of "track changes" and it had a weird effect. I also noticed that you can't view footnotes with WriteSpace turned on. Overall it's a good idea for simple documents. But I recommend adding the option of incorporating more of Word's functionality.
by codeplexer123 on Mar 4 at 1:53 PM
     
This is a splendid plugin for Word! Must have for everyone who wants distraction free writing. In fact this should be integrated into Word as a standard feature! Only hope this gets still worked on
by Rosswold on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:10 PM
     
This is an absolute must have for working in MS Word. Please keep up the excellent work!
by willyebersohl on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:09 PM
     
This is exactly the program I've been waiting for--a distraction-free word processor that is integrated into MS Word. I've tried the others, and have had issues importing them. A few things I'd like to see is a drag and drop margin for the top and bottom (I love the "typewriter scrolling" feature of WriteMonkey) and an auto-tab function or an extra space between paragraphs for ease of reading.
by Burning_Daylight on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:09 PM
     
I have been looking for ways to help me concentrate on my writing for a while and this does the job quite well! I've tested quite a few programs similar and the simple fact that it can be used within word(therefore allowing it to be a .docx) sets it above the rest. I would ask if it's possible to have word count in the taskbar as that would be helpful. Thanks for a great product
by katenga on Aug 5, 2010 at 6:44 AM
     
I have been using the 1.3 release for about six months and am currently installing v1.4 on another machine as well. I was thoroughly impressed. I had been looking for software like this for a year or two, but no one could recommend any such thing. Pros: Vertical margin customization. Cons: No horizontal (top & bottom) margin customization. It also runs a little slowly. And no ability to footnote!
by kudos on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:33 PM
     
This is perfect. A plain black board with nothing on it makes no distraction at all. The font is very similar to the one used in The Matrix. I didn't find any bugs. Very Good, MS word 2007 has never looked so useful =P. I'll surely recommend this to all the writers I know.
by Chafic on May 17, 2010 at 6:03 PM